Friday, February 21, 2003

Review: Ghetto Puppet - Songs From the Floor (2002)

Ghetto Puppet [ MySpace ]
Songs From the Floor

Ghetto Puppet are a hard rockin' band that successfully channel the blue collar work ethic and emotions of their roots into kick ass groovy rock. All four are Detroit area natives and have been involved in the local music scene in some capacity (frontwoman Carolyn Stone is a weekend jock on Detroit's number one rock radio station) for more than 10 years.

Their indie debut, Songs From The Floor, packs a solid punch in ten tracks of catchy hooks. "Jump Down" sets the mood with a catchy groove and memorable riff while Carolyn delivers her lines with a gritty aggressiveness reminiscent of a pissed off Pat Benatar. The next song, "Last Man Standing", is my favorite track on Songs From The Floor and comes driving at you with a great riff and Carolyn's most powerful vocal performance of the album. She displays both a great range of vocal style as well as incredible emotional variety. Truly a showcase of the band's talents. Ghetto Puppet display their versatility by slowing things down a bit on "Let It Die" and "Regret (Star Baby)", though neither of these let up on the aggressiveness and grit that are at the root of the bands style. Songs From The Floor is a well-produced, well-arranged album that never disappoints and lives up to the Detroit rock tradition.

Overall the musicianship is superb, the band's collective experience showing clearly through Mike Jones' solid axework and Jerry Quil's powerful bass lines driving the songs home. Carolyn's singing is eclipsed only by her energy on stage. If you ever get an opportunity to see Ghetto Puppet live, get your ass to the show and be prepared for one kick ass display of rock 'n roll, Detroit style.

Track Listing
1 Jump Down
2 Last Man Standing
3 More
4 Let It Die
5 Regret (Star Baby)
6 Run For Cover
7 Bleed
8 Mud On Boots
9 Dead Horse
10 Go

Search eBay for Songs From the Floor:

No comments:

Post a Comment